Urban Adventures

April explores the city.

A touring local and a real intern. September 13, 2010

Filed under: Exploration,Internship — April @ 10:58 pm

After a week of somewhat stressful internship hunting and lots of over-thinking (“careful consideration of options”), it was time for an I’m-a-tourist day before starting the internship.
I keep hearing that Fisherman’s Wharf is the only area in the city where there are more tourists than locals. Well I felt a little like both, but mostly the first. Fisherman’s Wharf is a fun little area full of shops and streets lined with vendors that remind me of the Sunday art walk in Santa Barbara. It’s right on the Bay with a distant and foggy view of Golden Gate Bridge. The best part is without a doubt Ghirardelli Square, the home of Ghirardelli chocolate. Two words: Free samples. I could have spent all day there; it smelled and tasted so delicious. I can definitely see this place being a frequent stop of mine, as I’ll be needing to restock my chocolate supply.
The next day we had a house picnic at Alamo Square, which is only a few blocks away from the house. On the east side of the park are the Painted Ladies, a.k.a. The Full House houses. These are the most photographed houses in the city, partly because of their beauty, partly because their backdrop is downtown and the Financial District, and partly because of Full House. We met some locals at the park, mainly through their dogs. Everyone has a dog here. It’s great.
That night we had a ladies night. There are 21 ladies in the house, so this was pretty impressive. We ventured out to North Beach/Little Italy for some good food and then settled down in Washington Square Park for a great San Francisco event called Film Night in the Park. The movie for the night was Amelie. It was very French, very quirky, and very delightful.
And then it began! Today was my first day interning at The Arc. My workday starts at 10 (yeah!). Once I got there, Meredith, my supervisor, took me around on a meet-and-greet with basically everyone that works there, from CEO to office assistant. Then I jumped right in to work. I really did a lot, especially for it being my first day. One of the clients was honored by Maria Shriver (wife of Arnold Schwarzenegger) this past weekend for her work in the office of the San Francisco mayor, so I wrote a brief profile of her for the Facebook page. I think that I will be doing a lot of work on their Facebook, so if you want to see what I’m doing at work, I’ve posted a link to it. I also did some video editing from the event at which she was honored, and that will be going on The Arc website tomorrow (to which I’ve also posted a link). I then went to one of the classes that are offered for clients — yoga. I really enjoyed being with the clients and and seeing one of the many services that The Arc provides them. I interviewed the volunteer instructor and wrote an article for the monthly newsletter about the class, which will be published online very soon. Also, throughout the day, clients stopped by the office and introduced themselves to me, which was so heartwarming and makes me really excited to work there. I know for sure that I made the right choice.
My work schedule will be a bit different than the rest of the Urban students because my supervisor doesn’t work Fridays. I’ll have to work Monday through Thursday (Tuesday and Thursday will not be full days), but I’ll always have a three-day weekend. Score!
I have my own desk in a spacious and shared office, my own phone extension, and I’m getting an official email address. Real world, here I come!

I’ve posted a link to my photo album for the semester; see what I’m seeing!

 

Leave a Reply

