Urban Adventures

April explores the city.

I ate a lot of food this weekend. September 26, 2010

Filed under: Exploration,Internship — April @ 10:43 pm

What a weekend! Friday, which is supposed to be my day off, I caught the 6:40 a.m. bus downtown to attend the Arc Angel Breakfast. That’s the big donor event I’ve been working on since I started my internship. It’s hard to believe that I’ve only been there for two weeks because so much has happened. I showed up at City Club, the venue for the event, and couldn’t believe how beautiful it was. So upscale and classy — it’s a good thing I wore my fancypants. I was put immediately to work and was in charge of greeting guests. All the stories I had written about clients were on the tables and the video I shot of Briana last week was played during the breakfast, so that was a nice rewarding moment. Overall the event went well and 13 new donors made a 5-year commitment. I’d say that’s a success. Also, free breakfast.
Then I got home and waited for a special visitor (a.k.a. Wyatt) coming from Santa Barbara for the weekend. We got some delicious ice cream at Mitchell’s, which I’ve heard a lot about and is a house favorite, and we only got a little bit lost. Saturday was a full day — full of bus rides. We took a trip to Clement Street in the Richmond District to check out Green Apple Books and get some exotic cuisine at Burma Superstar. SO tasty! My new favorite bread is called platha; I recommend it to everyone with taste buds.
We also went to the San Francisco Zoo, of course! It had a great layout and the exhibits were really spacious. It felt a lot bigger than the Santa Barbara Zoo, which will always be my favorite, but I don’t think it had many more animals or the same charm. But it was a lovely outing, followed by a rather pungent dinner in North Beach at The Stinking Rose. It’s a garlic restaurant that serves absolutely everything garlic. I thought the ice cream was a bit much. We ended the weekend with a walk over to Haight for some crepes at Squat & Gobble this morning. Yum.
I really needed this weekend and it came at just the right time. I’ve been here for a month now and I’m starting to get into the routine of things and realizing that I miss Santa Barbara. I’m enjoying the city and the new experiences for sure, but I just love Santa Barbara. It’s home. So I’ve decided that I’ll be going there for the four-day weekend in October. It will be a good break and so good to see my family and Westmont faces.

 

One Response to “I ate a lot of food this weekend.”

  1. Clarissa Says:

    I LOVE SQUAT AND GOBBLE.
    Heavenly. I want some now.


Leave a Reply

